top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFida Sarji

Writing my master thesis. How it went for me


As we all know, finishing a master study means writing a master thesis, and how much I dreaded these two words! I simply couldn’t imagine how I will succeed in writing a master thesis.


The process of writing a master thesis for me seemed impossible, well it was not impossible at the end, but it was hard, it needed a strong will, discipline, time management, and a clear view of what my master thesis should be about.


With all the ups and downs, I managed to finish on time, but for sure I went through several steps, it was a roller-coaster, exactly how I described my studies at the beginning of the program (you can still see the blog post of the roller-coaster!)


Anyway, this is not a scientific post where I describe steps or literature, this is all about my personal experience and how It went for me.

First of all, I knew for which company I wanted to do my master thesis for and had already an idea about the business and their problems, I already did the third semester project for them, so this could be an advantage, as it put you in the known before even starting to think about the thesis.

So, I knew the company, and also the problem, then I started thinking about what tools should I use to solve the problems, but that was not the right thinking for it, my supervisors clearly and more than one time stated that I need to think how to “solve” the problem, and only then I can know the right tools to accomplish that. It took me several attempts to right my thesis outline, but it was all worth it as it made the thesis clearer and more goal oriented.

After that, I started applying the methods, I used 5 methods: Inventory, website qualitative audit, SEO audit, Interviews in the jobs to be done framework and 7 Ebenen Modell.

After having all the results, I started with the literature part, and then build up on it the rest of the thesis.


I used to work every day, even on weekends from 17 till 20 or 21, I have a 4 months old baby boy, and I needed to wait for my husband to come home from work so I can start working on my thesis, it was sometimes total chaos and sometimes it was easier but that what worked for us. My working time was a fixed time for me that I would not chan (just in some rare cases), and of course the last week before the hand-in I needed more time, because as much as I was organized but there were still missing parts, proofreading and some change to make.


To summarize my experience, here is the main point I can say helped me in the process:

· Working daily

· Having a fix time to work on the thesis

· Keeping in touch with the supervisors all the time

· When you stumble upon a book or literature that might help, mark the page not only the book, or the sentences in a article you want to use. Our memory tends to play tricks when we are stressed or overwhelmed.

· Building on the literature will help in the discussion area.

· As far as it seems start working!


Now that I am finished I cherish every minute of this experience but I now I will have a break and enjoy my 4 months old baby.


This was my experience and how it went for me. I wish all the success for my fellow students. Studying content strategy at FH Joanneum has been more than a study, it is a whole experience itself.

26 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page